There is a new sheriff in town, or at least there will be on Jan. 1, 2021, as Terry Jones won the Republican Party nomination for the office Tuesday night.

County Judge Bobby Stovall also will remain in the post, after Hunt County voters elected him to the office he was appointed to early last year.

The race for State Representative District 2 appears to again be headed to a May 26 runoff election, as are the contests for Hunt County attorney, county commissioner Precinct 1, and two county constables.

All of the contested races in Hunt County were in Tuesday’s Republican Party primary, including county judge, county attorney, sheriff, county commissioner Precinct 1, county commissioner Precinct 3, constable Precinct 1 and constable Precinct 3.

Hunt County Democrats had only two candidates to file, one each for constable Precinct 1 and the other for the party’s chairman.

Incumbent Judge Bobby Stovall claimed 6,758 votes (57.13 percent) to Jay Atkins’ 5,079 votes (42.87 percent).

In the race for Hunt County attorney, Scott Cornuaud collected 5,701 votes (46.79 percent) to G. Calvin Grogan’s 3,485 votes (29.56 percent) and Elisha Hollis’ 2,518 votes (21.55 percent). Since none of the candidates claimed more than 50 percent of the vote, the result is a Cornuaud and Grogran runoff.

The battle for the Republican nomination to be the next sheriff was between Terry Jones and Kirby Dean Luke. Jones received 9,015 votes (72,63 percent) to Luke’s 3,395 votes (27.37 percent) to win the office, as there were no Democratic Party contenders. Current Sheriff Randy Meeks is retiring at the end of this year.

Incumbent County Commissioner Precinct 1 Eric Evans was facing Dan Dalton and Mark Hutchins. Hutchins and Evans will be meeting in the runoff, as Hutchins received 1,372 votes (47.91 percent) to Evans’ 1,065 votes (37.19 percent) and Dalton’s 427 votes (14.91 percent).

Incumbent County Commissioner Precinct 3 Phillip Martin defeated Charlie Stewart, as Martin received 2,475 votes (64.79 percent) to Stewart’s 1,345 votes (35.21 percent).

Four people filed seeking the GOP nomination in the race for the office of Hunt County Constable Precinct 1. Sandra Linson-Bell and Richy Valenzuela will go to the runoff, as Valenzuela received 2,220 votes (32.67 percent) to Linson-Bell’s 1,813 votes (26.68 percent). The winner of the runoff will face Glenn Stone, who was unopposed in seeking the Democratic Party nomination for the position, in November.

The Republican Party race for constable Precinct 3 drew three candidates, Joel Gibson, Bradley Lumpkin and Wade Sheets. Sheets received 541 votes (45.35 percent) to Gibson’s 395 votes (33.11 percent) to make it to the runoff.

Incumbent State Representative Dan Flynn of Van was facing Bryan Slaton of Royse City, for the third time, along with Dwayne “Doc” Collins of Ben Wheeler in the race for the GOP nomination for Texas House District 2. Final results were not available from the Texas Secretary of State’s Office as of press time, but Hunt County GOP Chairman David Hale said Flynn appeared to have won all three counties in the district — Hunt, Van Zandt and Rains — but did not claim more than 50 percent of the total vote, leading to a runoff with Slaton.

Bill Brannon of Como was unopposed in seeking the Democratic Party nomination for the office and will face either Flynn or Slaton in November.

A complete recap of the election will be included in Thursday’s edition of the Herald-Banner.

Recommended for you