The mayors of Rockwall County invite the public to join them in recognizing the annual National Day of Prayer on Thursday, May 6 with the fourth annual “Rockwall County Mayors Prayer Breakfast.”

Mayors Bill Cecil (Rockwall), John Harper (Rowlett), John Ratcliffe (Heath), Jerrell Baley (Royse City), Michael Donegan (McLendon-Chisholm), and Bill Broderick (Fate) will host the non-denominational event at “The Center” at City Place, 108 W. Washington Street, which is adjacent to Rockwall City Hall.

Doors open at 7:30 a.m. for the 8 a.m. event that includes a free continental breakfast.

“We are excited to announce that our guest speaker this year will be Tim Barton, who is with the nationally acclaimed organization, Wallbuilders, which presents America’s forgotten history and heroes, with an emphasis on our moral, religious and constitutional heritage,” said Rockwall Mayor Bill Cecil in a prepared release.

“The son of David Barton, founder of Wallbuilders, Tim excels in his presentations on worldview and on the truth of America’s heritage.

“Pastors, seminars, churches and youth conferences have all been challenged and inspired by his presentations. From elementary students to senior adults, he gains the rapt attention of all with his unique style. Engaging and challenging the mind, his messages speak straight to the heart.”

Barton is an ordained minister and has worked in a variety of church staff positions, including youth minister, worship leader and assistant pastor. He also serves as a coach, athletic director and teacher at a Christian school in Texas.

“People of all theological and philosophical faiths are welcome to participate in the Rockwall County Mayors’ Prayer Breakfast  in accordance with their own beliefs, which is what Congress intended in establishing a National Day of Prayer,” Cecil said. “All who want to pray for our nation are encouraged to do so in any way, in any faith, as each individual feels is appropriate.”

The first Continental Congress called for a National Day of Prayer in 1775 as did Abraham Lincoln in 1863. Congress established National Day of Prayer as an annual event by joint resolution signed by President Truman in 1952. The law was amended and signed by President Reagan to officially designate the first Thursday in May as the official date.

Each year the President signs a proclamation encouraging all Americans to pray on this day. Last year, all 50 state governors plus the governors of several U.S. territories signed similar proclamations.

“This is not a political event,” Cecil said. “It is intended to encourage people county-wide to join their neighbors in a call to pray for our nation as our national leaders will do that morning in Washington D.C.”

Trending Video

Recommended for you