With the school year officially coming to an end, the Royse City Independent School District celebrated some well deserved recognitions and accolades for its teachers and staff.

District employees gathered at the performing arts center at Royse City High School for the 2019 Staff Appreciation Awards.

Administrators announced the district’s elementary school and secondary school teachers of the year, in addition to various other recognition for teachers and staff. This year was also the first year that the district added award categories for EDP and daycare employees.

Royse City ISD Superintendent Kevin Worthy said the award ceremony is an event that he looks forward to each year.

“This is a joyful day. This is an opportunity for us to recognize our staff for their hard work and what they accomplished in the 2018-19 school year,” Worthy said. “It’s celebration, recognition and affirmation, but it’s also a way to launch into the summer.”

District Spokeswoman Adi Bryant gave a welcome speech to the staff gathered at the performing arts center, thanking teachers and staff for their work,

“We want to show our staff how much we love them,” Bryant said. “We come together and we celebrate each other as a family.”

The district gave out awards for the following categories: Food Service Employees of the Year, Custodian of the Year, Bus Driver of the Year, Maintenance Workers of the Year, Special Education Staff of the Year, Technology Staff of the Year, EDP and Daycare Employees of the Year, and The Peggy Webb Support Staff of the Year.

Safety officials at the district were also recognized on the stage at the award ceremony.

Royse City ISD also recognized teachers and staff for years of service, as well as good attendance.

Below is a list of the award categories and the winner of each award.

Elementary School Teacher of the Year: Elsa Carter

Secondary School Teacher of the Year: Ashley Jones

Campus Teachers of the Year: Robert Brown, Elsa Carter, Amy Dayal, Christina Finch, Nichole Hahn, Ashley Jones, Christy Miller, Elizabeth Watson

Special Educator of the Year: Debi Wood

Bus Driver of the Year: Cindy Smith

Custodian of the Year: Gerardo Santiago

Maintenance Worker of the Year: Paul Allison

EDP and Daycare Employees of the Year: Rachel Boren

Technology Staff of the Year: Drew Richardson

The Peggy Webb Support Staff of the Year: Shelley George, Georgette McDaniel