By Dale Gibson

Herald-Banner Sports

Royse City senior Justin Crutchfield (6-1, forward) and junior Justin Jacobs (6-1, guard), along with the Bulldogs’ coaching staff received top honors from the District 10-3A basketball coaches.

Crutchfield, who had an average of 13.1 points per game in district, was named Offensive Player of the Year, while Jacobs was named Defensive Player of the Year. The Coaching Staff of the Year went to Royse City head coach Anthony Howerton and his staff.

Anthony Henry of Commerce was the unanimous choice for the District Most Valuable Player award. Henry, a senior, averaged 16.9 points per game in district action.

Dustin Petersen, another Bulldog senior was named to the first team all-district unit by the district coaches. Petersen (6-4, forward) had an 11.4 points per game average in district play.

Chris Smith, 6-5, senior, center, was named to the second team along with teammate J. T. Thompson, 5-10, junior, guard.

Juniors Kollin Padon and Wynn Posey of Royse City both received honorable mention. Padon is a 6-3, center, and Posey is a 6-2, forward.

The District Newcomer of the Year award went to Wills Point sophomore Steven Cunigan.

“We will lose four exceptional seniors,” Royse City Coach Anthony Howerton said. “We have five really solid varsity returnees and some new faces up from the JV and freshmen ranks to help us.”

Next season the Bulldogs will move up to Class 4A in an eight-team district which includes three schools which have been long-time 5A schools. Carrollton Newman Smith, Carrollton R. L. Turner and Rockwall will all drop from 5A to the new district 10-4A. Royse City is the only 3A school moving into the new district which will also include Highland Park, Greenville, Rockwall Heath and Richardson Pearce. The new Class 4A alignment includes schools which range in student enrollment from 980 to 2,084.

District 10-3A All-District selections

First Team

Player School Class

Dustin Petersen Royse City Senior

Mark Barefield* Wills Point Junior

Cameron Nelson* Commerce Sophomore

Ross Hutchison* Community Senior

Matthew Hollien* Community Junior

Tyler Northcutt* Quinlan Ford Senior

Colby Hoover Rains Junior

* Denotes unanimous selection

Second Team

J. T. Thompson Royse City Junior

Chris Smith Royse City Senior

Honorable mention

Kollin Padon Royse City Junior

Wynn Posey Royse City Junior

Trending Video

Recommended for you